Apple's sustainability disclosures present two distinct renewable-energy figures — one for the stores, offices, and data centers Apple itself operates, another for the vast network of manufacturers who build its products — yet the company's messaging allows these separate measures to drift together in the public mind. The 1.8 gigawatts Apple procured for its own operations in 2025 and the 20-plus gigawatts its suppliers have committed through a separate program answer different questions about different electricity flows. What remains unspoken is as revealing as what is said: no combined perce
Apple's Renewable Energy Claims: Operations and Manufacturing Are Separate Numbers
Apple does not say what percentage of its total operational electricity this represents
So Apple is saying it uses renewable energy, but the numbers don't actually add up to a single claim?
Right. They're reporting two separate things—1.8 gigawatts for their own operations, and over 20 gigawatts for manufacturing. But they don't combine them or explain how they relate.
Wait, is the 1.8 gigawatts the total, or just what they added in 2025?
Just what they added in 2025. Apple doesn't publish a running total for their own operations.
So we don't actually know how much renewable energy Apple's stores and offices use?
Not from what they've published. They don't break it down by facility type, and they don't say what percentage of their total operational electricity the 1.8 gigawatts represents.
And the 20 gigawatts—that's from suppliers, not Apple's own facilities?
Correct. That's through the Supplier Clean Energy Program, which is a separate initiative with over 300 manufacturers.
Why does Apple keep these numbers separate?
Because they measure different things. One is Apple's direct electricity use. The other is electricity used to manufacture Apple's products at supplier facilities.
But when Apple talks about renewable energy in marketing, do they combine them?
They appear in the same environmental progress report, so it's easy to conflate them. But Apple doesn't publish a combined percentage.
What would it take to actually know Apple's total renewable-energy picture?
Apple would need to publish cumulative totals for its own operations, year-by-year breakdowns for the supplier program, and a formula connecting per-product environmental reports to the company-wide claims. None of that exists yet.
The Pulse
- Apple's two renewable-energy figures — 1.8 gigawatts for its own operations and 20-plus gigawatts for supplier manufacturing — measure fundamentally different things, yet appear side by side in sustainability messaging in ways that invite conflation.
- Neither figure is anchored to a percentage of total electricity consumed, leaving observers unable to judge how close Apple actually is to running on clean power across its business.
- The supplier program's history is told in snapshots rather than a continuous timeline, so the public can see where the count of 300-plus manufacturers started and where it stands now, but not how it moved year by year.
- Per-product environmental reports for devices like iPhone 18 Pro and AirPods 5 add another layer of scope confusion, each citing manufacturing-electricity figures that Apple has not connected to the broader supplier program by any published formula.
- Apple has set no interim targets between the present and its 2030 clean-energy commitment, and as of mid-September 2026 has announced no date for its next comprehensive environmental update.
Apple's sustainability disclosures present two distinct renewable-energy figures — one for the stores, offices, and data centers Apple itself operates, another for the vast network of manufacturers who build its products — yet the company's messaging allows these separate measures to drift together in the public mind. The 1.8 gigawatts Apple procured for its own operations in 2025 and the 20-plus gigawatts its suppliers have committed through a separate program answer different questions about different electricity flows. What remains unspoken is as revealing as what is said: no combined percentage, no interim milestones, no formula bridging the two worlds. In the long human effort to hold powerful institutions accountable to their stated values, the architecture of a disclosure can matter as much as the numbers inside it.
Apple publishes two renewable-energy figures that measure fundamentally different things, yet both surface in the company's sustainability messaging in ways that can blur together — and the distinction matters for anyone trying to assess what Apple's environmental claims actually cover.
The smaller number is Apple's own. In 2025, the company procured 1.8 gigawatts of renewable energy for the stores, offices, and data centers it directly operates. Apple does not say what percentage of its total operational electricity this represents, nor does it publish a running total of capacity built since its 2020 pledge. Each year's figure stands alone.
The larger number belongs to Apple's suppliers. Through its Supplier Clean Energy Program, more than 300 manufacturers have committed to 100 percent clean energy for Apple production by 2030. Those suppliers have collectively procured more than 20 gigawatts and generated more than 38 million megawatt-hours in 2025 — electricity used to manufacture Apple's products, not to run Apple's business. Apple has published this program's progress in stages rather than as a continuous timeline, so the trajectory between 2023 and 2026 remains invisible to the public.
Individual product environmental reports add a third layer. Each device — iPhone 18 Pro, Apple Watch Series 12, AirPods 5, and others — carries its own manufacturing-electricity figure for that single unit. Apple has published no formula connecting these per-product numbers to the company-wide supplier program, leaving the different scopes impossible to reconcile.
What Apple has not disclosed is equally instructive: no combined renewable percentage spanning operations and supply chain, no statement of how much supply-chain electricity remains non-renewable today, and no interim milestone between now and 2030. The next update will likely arrive with the next annual environmental progress report, but no date for that report has been announced.
Apple publishes two separate renewable-energy figures that measure fundamentally different things, yet both appear in the company's sustainability messaging in ways that can blur together. The distinction matters for anyone trying to understand what Apple's environmental claims actually cover.
The smaller number belongs to Apple itself. In 2025, the company procured 1.8 gigawatts of additional renewable energy for its own operations—the stores, offices, and data centers it directly runs. Apple does not break this figure down by facility type, and it does not say what percentage of its total operational electricity this 1.8 gigawatts represents. It is presented as the year's new procurement, not as a cumulative total built up since the company's 2020 renewable-energy pledge. Readers have no way to know from Apple's published materials what the running total of operational renewable capacity actually is.
The larger number belongs to Apple's suppliers. Through its Supplier Clean Energy Program, more than 300 manufacturers have committed to 100 percent clean energy for their Apple production by 2030. Direct suppliers have procured more than 20 gigawatts of renewable energy, and the program generated more than 38 million megawatt-hours in 2025—a figure Apple compares to powering 3.4 million U.S. households for a year. This is a separate program with its own tracking, its own participants, and its own goals. It measures electricity used to manufacture Apple's products, not electricity used to run Apple's business.
Apple has built the supplier program's claims over several years, publishing updates in stages rather than as a single comprehensive table. A 2023 newsroom release covered the company advancing its supplier clean-energy commitments before the manufacturer count reached the more-than-300 figure now stated in the April 2026 environmental progress report. Apple has not published year-by-year numbers showing how the manufacturer count, gigawatts procured, or megawatt-hours generated moved between 2023 and 2026, so the public can see the starting and ending points but not the trajectory.
The same opacity applies to Apple's own operations. The 1.8 gigawatt figure for 2025 stands alone each year, with no cumulative total published. A reader cannot add up the annual figures Apple releases to determine the actual renewable capacity Apple has built for itself since 2020.
The confusion deepens when individual products enter the picture. iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Duo, Apple Watch Series 12, Apple Watch Ultra 4, and AirPods 5 each have their own Product Environmental Report, and each states a manufacturing-electricity figure for that single device. These per-product numbers describe assembly of one device, not the company-wide supplier program. Apple has not published a formula connecting the per-product figures to the broader supplier program, leaving readers unable to reconcile the different scopes.
What Apple has not disclosed is equally instructive. The company has not published a combined renewable-energy percentage that adds its own operations to its supply chain. It has not stated what share of total supply-chain electricity remains non-renewable today against the 2030 clean-energy commitment. It has not set an interim target between now and 2030 for either figure. The next update to these numbers will most likely arrive with the next annual environmental progress report, but as of mid-September 2026, no date for that report has been announced.
Notable Quotes
Apple has not published a combined renewable-energy percentage that adds its own operations to its supply chain, and it has not stated what share of total supply-chain electricity remains non-renewable today against the 2030 clean-energy commitment.— Apple's April 2026 environmental progress report